Thread: Email stuck in queue?

Junior Member Newbie

Default Email stuck in queue?

I just came from a reseller account and it's my first time getting a VPS, quite unsure on what to do.

Anyway I seemed to have got the basic set up all done, I'm getting my mails all right, but anything I send through the SMTP server through Thunderbird seems to go into the exim mail queue and not get sent out. I have tried to send them manually by clicking on "attempt to deliver all messages in queue", but even then they seem to remain in the queue, and I have yet to receive them in the destination email account.

How do I go about solving this?

Default Mail

Hello Christian,

I am going to have you try some trouble shooting for me that can help us figure what is going on with the E-mail you are trying to send.

I would like for you to shell into your account and run the following command as root

sendmail q v

When you run the command you should get an output of every message in the queue such as : root@server.timshank.net R=localuser T=local_delivery defer (-52): Retry time not yet reached
    delivering 1Daulu-0007dI-Lu (queue run pid 12642)

post your out put you get back here in the forum. It will normally contain data that can help us better trouble shoot your issue.
    Youseph
    Spry Support Member

Homepage
    http://www.spry.com

Tutorials
    http://www.spry.com/support/tutorials/

Junior Member Newbie

Okay, here it the output:

LOG: queue_run MAIN
    Start queue run: pid=20930
    delivering 1Db4Aq-0001Kb-H2 (queue run pid 20930)
    Connecting to gsmtp171-2.google.com [64.233.171.114]:25 ... failed: Connection refused
    LOG: MAIN
    gsmtp171-2.google.com [64.233.171.114]: Connection refused
    Connecting to gsmtp171.google.com [64.233.171.27]:25 ... failed: Connection refused
    gsmtp171.google.com [64.233.171.27]: Connection refused
    == darkwoof@gmail.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp defer (111): Connection refused