Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: VPS Concerns

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default VPS Concerns

    I'm looking at getting the first VPS package, but I wanted to make sure I'm allowed to run a small game server on it. I know it can handle the server size I want, but I wanted to make sure it's allowed before I purchased.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Power Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    359

    Default

    Yes - you are welcome to use a Spry VPS plan to host a game server, however, you will need to keep tabs on the software's use of resources - if your game server consistently requires 100% CPU utilization it may be considered resource abuse to run the game server.

    If you have not already done so, please see our Acceptable Use Policy for full details on activities prohibited on our service.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Alright, perfect. It's just a small game server, so I can't see it using much CPU or RAM. Thanks for the quick reply!

    Do you have a test one up by any chance? I'd just like to see how I find to it, and how it runs a game server.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Power Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    359

    Default

    We do not provide trials or temporary access to live virtual private servers, however, I can assure you that we will always honor our 30-Day Money Back Guarantee:

    If for any reason you are not satisfied with your service at Spry, contact us within 30 days of your signup date to receive a full refund.
    Thirty days should be adequate time to determine whether our service is right for your purposes - if you change your mind for any reason you won't be out any money at all (... though we're confident that you'll like what you find).

  5. #5
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Well I went to order, but there's no Fedora Core under OS. Do you not offer Fedora Core? I'm only familiar with Fedora Core, so I'd like to stick with that if I can.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Power Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    359

    Default

    We are presently offering CentOS and Debian at Spry - given that both Fedora and CentOS are based on RHEL and the yum package management system, you would very likely find CentOS to be a suitable alternative to Fedora unless your intended deployment has dependencies specific to Fedora.

    I should mention that we do offer Fedora through our VPSLink.com brand (if you were planning to use the 4096 or 8192-level plans, however, it should be noted that we do not offer dedicated resource virtual servers at VPSLink).

  7. #7
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Well I'm just planning on running a small game server, but if CentOS is very similar to Fedora Core, I'm sure I could figure it out.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Purchased my VPS, got the server up and running. Only question I have is how do I access the raw files? I need to add a boot up config for the game server, and I'm not sure how to access my files. So far everything seems great though, so thanks!

  9. #9
    Senior Member Does this guy work here?
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,045

    Default

    Hello,

    Most people do it via ssh or scp. If you want to create something that will start the game server on start up, you'll probably have to make a start up script (if one isn't provided for you.). Here's a fairly general init script tutorial.
    Example LINUX init Script*|*spiralbound.net
    It should have everything you need to know about hand-making an startup script.

    --
    Spry Support

  10. #10
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I'm gonna try SSH using Poderosa. Only other problem is I just noticed if I exit off my control panel/console, server shuts down? Why doesn't it stay running? I log back into console and it's a blank screen.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •